Advancements in Patient Care

Advancements in Patient Care with Shephal Doshi, M.D.

The WATCHMAN  

The WATCHMAN implantation is a one-time, minimally invasive procedure to treat patients with non-valvular atrial fibrillation and need for alternatives to oral anticoagulants (OACs). The overwhelming majority of stroke-causing clots form in the left atrial appendage (LAA).The WATCHMAN implant fits into the LAA, preventing blood clots from escaping. Over 95% of patients are able to stop their OACs within 45 days after the procedure. For those who cannot take OACs after WATCHMAN implantation, options for treating with short-term antiplatelets after implant may also be possible. Select centers can also do the procedure without general anesthesia with same-day discharge.

Watch this video to learn more about the procedure and how it can benefit your patients:

Physicians performing the WATCHMAN procedure:

Providence Saint John’s Health Center, Santa Monica, CA

Shephal Doshi, M.D. – Email: Shephal.Doshi@providence.org 

Peter Pelikan, M.D. – Email: Peter.Pelikan@providence.org

Sarina van der Zee, M.D. – Email: Sarina.vanderzee@providence.org

Providence St. Joseph Hospital, Orange, CA

Jay Lee, M.D. – Email: jhlmd@mac.com

Aidan Raney  Email: aidanraney@gmail.com

Coming soon:

Providence Mission Hospital. Mission Viejo, CA

Sanjay Bhojraj, M.D. – Email: Sanjay.Bhojraj@stjoe.org

Aseem Desai, M.D. – Email: Aseem.Desai@stjoe.org

Lynne Hung, M.D. – Email: Lynne.Hung@stjoe.org

Jay Tiongson, M.D. – Email: Jay.Tiongson@stjoe.org