Noteworthy Nurses

2016 APNA Annual Awards Recipients' Award for Media – June 2016
Jeannine S. Loucks, MSN, RN-BC PMH

"Jeannine Loucks has taken collaboration with first responders to an added height by developing training videos for police departments demonstrating how to work with people with psychiatric and emotional disorders in the field."

2016 Preceptor of the Year – Western University – August 2016
Diana Roberts, RN, BSN, CN II Labor & Delivery

“Diana was recognized for providing a nurturing environment for students, where they see firsthand the compassionate care she provides to her patients."

ENA First Place Poster for Nursing Research – September 2016
Belinda Leos, RN, MSN, CN II, Sherry Endo, RN, MSN, CN II, Robert Garcia, RN, MSN, CMSRN, and Beth Winokur, PhD, RN, CEN

California Giving Excellence Meaning (GEM) Awards – September 2016
Adriana Velez, RN, MSN, CN II, and Sakura Norling, RN, AD, PCCN, CN II, both from the Medical Telemetry Unit, were finalists in the category of Inpatient Clinical Nursing.

Sakura and Adriana
 Adriana Velez and Sakura Norling

ACNL 39th Annual Conference 3rd Place Poster - October 2016
Beth Winokur, PhD, RN, CEN

St. Joseph Health System-Values in Action Recipient for Dignity - November 2016
Dawn Nagel, BSN, RN, NCC

GEM Nurses 2015

Aileen Ingles, Rebecca Wile, Jeanine Loucks, Beth Winokur and April Liwag

The Nursing Excellence GEM (Giving Excellence Meaning) Awards program is a nurse-led nomination and selection program. Nominees come from all specialties and practice settings and can be nominated for any of the six categories:

  • Advancing and Leading the Profession
  • Clinical Nursing, Inpatient
  • Education and Mentorship
  • Home, Community and Home Care
  • Patient and Staff Management
  • Volunteerism and Service

Each year, asks their valued nurse readers to nominate exceptional nurses they work with. Nominations detailing the extraordinary nursing contributions are submitted online. During the selection process, six finalists are selected for each category and the winner is announced at the regional GEM event. This year, five finalists were selected from St. Joseph Hospital for the following categories: Advancing and Leading the Profession (Jeanine Loucks, MSN, RN-BC, PMH, Manager of the Emergency Care Center PECDU), Education and Mentorship

(Beth Winokur, PhD, RN, CEN, Clinical Educator), Clinical Nursing, Inpatient (Aileen Ingles, BSN, RN, PCCN, Clinical Nurse IV from Med Tele, Rebecca Wile, MSN, RN, CCRN, Clinical Nurse III from MICU, and April Liwag, MSN, RN, CMSRN, PHN, Clinical Nurse IV from General Surgery).

On Friday, June 5, nominees, family, friends and management attended a reception at the Universal Studios Hilton. After all the nominees were introduced and highlights from their nominations were read, the winners were announced. April Liwag won for Clinical Nursing, Inpatient.

Carmen Ferrell

Carmen Ferrell, RN, MSN, CCRN, Executive Director of Critical Care and Telemetry Services, has received the 2010 Circle of Excellence award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. Given annually, less than 25 individuals worldwide receive this prestigious award.

Circle of Excellence recipients are chosen by a panel of volunteer reviewers and rated on the basis of how well the nominees achieved the following criteria:

  • Relentlessly promotes patient-driven excellence
  • Models skilled communication, true collaboration, effective decision making and meaningful recognition
  • Transforms thinking, structures and processes to address challenges and remove barriers to advance patient-driven excellence Furthers AACN's mission and key initiatives at influential forums
  • Enriches own and other organizations by influencing and mentoring others in achieving excellence
  • Achieves visible results that validate impact of individual leadership contribution to organizational excellence.